A picture of the Town Mace

About The Town Council

Witney Town Council was established in 1974 and is the ‘parish’ council for the town.  There are six electoral wards within the town boundary. We have 17 elected town
councillors who form the democratically elected body that  represents the people of the town.  Councillors are usually elected for a term of four years, except where a by-election is held. Town Councillors are unpaid public servants.

Our Councillors regularly meet in full council and at
committee and sub committee meetings. These evening meetings are held in the Gallery Room of The Corn Exchange and are open to the public and the press.

Our schedule of council meetings is available in the Events Calendar.

Witney Town Council is the  third tier of Local Government for Witney.  We work alongside West Oxfordshire District Council and  Oxfordshire County Council who provide other services over a larger area, such as roads,  planning, waste collection and social services.



Official Site of Witney Town Council

Skip to content